C. M. Wendelboe

Hunting the Saturday Night Strangler

A Bitter Wind Mystery

(Midnight Ink)

Second in the new mystery series

Hunting the Saturday Night Strangler by C. M. Wendelboe (Front Cover)

A rancher’s body is found in a sheep pasture. An amateur musician in a state park. A successful psychiatrist on a remote roadside.

Three dead bodies with only two things in common: The victims were all strangled to death, and the murders all took place on Saturday nights.

Retired homicide detective Arn Anderson once again teams up with TV reporter Ana Maria Villarreal to hunt a serial killer on the loose in Cheyenne.

The deeper they trek into the territory of thriving rustlers and the closer they come to catching the killer, the more they are met with suspicion by local police.

And the more they question whether they’re unwinding the killer’s twisted thread of clues or tightening their own noose.

Hunting the Five Point Killer by C. M. Wendelboe (Front Cover)

First in the series

Former Denver homicide detective Arn Anderson never thought he’d be broke enough to take on a cold murder case. Or desperate enough to do it with a TV reporter. Or pathetic enough to go back to his rundown childhood home, after he swore he’d left Cheyenne for good.

But here he is, hunting a serial killer who also appears to have come out of retirement.

On the eve of the tenth anniversary of the murders, the Five Point Killer is back for blood—and Arn could be next.

Seeking Justice

A Tucker Ashley Western Adventure

(Five Star)

Second in the new traditional Western series

Seeking Justice by C. M. Wendelboe (Front Cover)

Tucker Ashley is back in action when best friend’s fiance is kidnapped from the Bucket of Blood saloon. His own fiance threatens to call off their impending wedding if he leaves town—but off he rides.

Tucker leads a pathetic posse in pursuit of a gang so brutal that even the army turned the other way rather than confront Justice Cauther and his cohorts—when Tucker most desperately needs any help he can get.

Between the outlaws, the Indians, and the army, Tucker is beaten, ambushed and beaten again, and left for dead in the harsh Dakota winter.

Finally at the edge of his own reason, Tucker comes face-to-face with the ringleader of the gang that started it all. Now one of them must end it all—sending his enemy plummeting over a cliff, never to be found at the bottom of the Badlands.

Backed to the Wall by C. M. Wendelboe (Front Cover)

First in the series

In the Dakota Territory of the 1870s, the line between outlaw and lawman is often blurred. Some of those sworn to protect the helpless might exploit them instead.

And some of those deemed hard cases might redeem themselves.

Backed to the Wall plunges both a lawman and an outlaw into a blood battle that only one of them can survive—if the Indian raiders terrorizing homesteaders and cattlemen don’t kill them first.

The Marshal and the Sinister Still

A Nelson Lane Frontier Mystery

(Five Star)

Second in the new frontier mystery series

The Marshal and the Sinister Still by C. M. Wendelboe (Front Cover)

A girl goes missing from the reservation, and Nelson figures she's just a runaway: An easy case to wrap up so he can return to his favorite trout stream.

First his search leads him to a local moonshiner—found murdered at his ranch.

Soon Nelson suspects the killer is one of the Chicago gangsters who recently set up shop in Wyoming. But moonshine is just a front for their real trafficking.

At every corner he turns in the investigation, Nelson is thwarted by thugs—including the crooked sheriff in the gangsters’ pocket.

When he finally uncovers the truth about runaway girls held captive in the barn housing the gangsters’ still, it may be too late to rescue the missing Wind River girl from certain death—as death comes knocking on Nelson’s door.

The Marshal and the Moonshiner by C. M. Wendelboe (Front Cover)

First in the series

Gangsters and hoodlums prey upon people’s weaknesses for a quick buck in an era that saw few bucks to spare, making criminals of everyday folks in the rural Great Depression. In a place as wild as the West ever was, in the heyday of the badmen versus the lawmen, the law is in short supply.

U.S. Marshal Nelson Lane chases a fleeing murder suspect from the frontier of the Wind River Indian Reservation in Wyoming all the way to the big city of El Reno in Oklahoma—out of his element in both places and nearly everywhere in between.


April 2019
Cheyenne, Wyoming
blank blank
Sat 13 Apr 19 2-5 p.m. Barnes & Noble
blank blank 1851 Dell Range Blvd
blank blank
Rapid City, South Dakota
blank blank
Wed 17 Apr 19 12-1 p.m. Rapid City Public Library Downtown
blank blank 610 Quincy Street
blank blank
C. M. Wendelboe (Portrait)

C. M. Wendelboe entered the law enforcement profession when he was discharged from the Marines as the Vietnam war was winding down. In the 1970s, his career included assisting federal and tribal law enforcement agencies embroiled in conflicts with American Indian Movement activists in South Dakota.

He moved to Gillette, Wyoming, and found his niche, where he remained a sheriff's deputy for more than 25 years. In addition, he was a longtime firearms instructor at the local college and within the community.

During his 38-year career in law enforcement he had served successful stints as police chief, policy adviser, and other supervisory roles for several agencies. Yet he always has felt most proud of "working the street." He was a patrol supervisor when he retired to pursue his true vocation as a fiction writer.

Coming in March 2019

Death Etched in Stone

A Manny Tanno Mystery


The long-awaited fourth in the acclaimed series that started it all

Death Etched in Stone by C. M. Wendelboe (Front Cover)

[Description to come]

Death Along the Spirit Road

(Berkley Prime Crime: 2011)

First in the series

Death Along the Spirit Road by C. M. Wendelboe (Front Cover)

Death Where the Bad Rocks Live

(Berkley Prime Crime: 2012)

Second in the series

Death Where the Bad Rocks Live (Front Cover)

Death on the Greasy Grass

(Berkley Prime Crime: 2013)

Third in the series

Death on the Greasy Grass by C. M. Wendelboe (Front Cover)